I have no doubt at all that I am profoundly addicted to this life (because, for me, this *isn’t* a game). I thought I had a handle on this addiction.

Personal circumstances have allowed me to spend an inordinate amount of time over the last two weeks in-world, and they have been two *extraordinary* weeks, full of emotions, challenges, learning and especially love.

But last night, those two weeks were up, and I couldn’t believe how hard the urge to get in hit me. I needed to be in there… so many things I could be doing were bouncing around in my head… I sorely *needed* to see my friends.

And the worst thing is that it’s not like I’m leaving or anything; it was just one day.

Now I admit that I am perhaps not an example to look up to in terms of maintaining balance. I feel things so intensely that I get caught up in whatever is most fascinating to me at any given moment. In that sense, SL is like nothing else. There’s *always* something to do, places to explore, things to build or buy, people to meet, conversations to have. There are no limits; do whatever you want! How can RL hope to compare?

But I *will* work on regaining balance. It will come back to me, because RL has one advantage over SL: persistence. Every single day, for the rest of my life, I know when I wake up in the morning, I’ll see my family, and I will continue building my life from where I left off the day before, and then I will put them to bed every night. I can’t log off.

I can only take a break. A vacation.

So I will look at this as what it was: a vacation. I went on vacation for two weeks to exotic lands, saw strange and wonderful things, and lived experiences that I will remember for a lifetime. If I am smart, I will nurture the memories of that vacation, relive them and learn from them, and try to make my normal life richer as a result.

With the advantage that I can easily go back to this vacation, (almost) every evening, after I put my family to bed.