On Second Life Insider today, Akela interviewed Eureka Dejavu, and much of the discussion centered around issues that I’ve discussed here.

People still need the comfort of metaphors.
That is so true, and so significant. Everything here is a metaphor. So in order to be “true” to yourself, you start to amplify that dream part of yourself. In my case the thing I cherish most in the world is making true and meaningful connections to people. People either love that or get intimidated by it.

In SL everything is about connections.

Aenea is my dream of myself. She represents the best in me, with no limitations imposed by RL, by fears or history or anything else.

I grew into this over the days and weeks as a noob as I came to understand what SL truly allowed me to be. I remember all the cruft I started out with, and what I came to understand shouldn’t be a part of my Second Life, what I shouldn’t bring with me into this world. So I learned to shed the bits and pieces that have accreted in RL, and truly come free everytime I log in.

I think the primary reason that I have such severe withdrawal pangs when I’m out of SL is because I miss those “true and meaningful connections” that Eureka mentions… It just has always seemed something so difficult to find and maintain in RL.

But the SL self-selection — in the sense that everyone who “gets it” here understands the need for those connections — means that the odds are very much in your favor to find people willing to make those significant connections here.

I❤ that.

I totally agree. It’s what keeps me coming back. I cherish the friends I’ve made in here, because they’re friends based on mutual love of concepts.

You said it; love of concepts. All the mundane facts of reality are eliminated, and that is liberating.

There’s no other context for our meeting. We’re not nice to each other because we work together, or have mutual friends.

There are no relationships of convenience here. I’ve always been one to eliminate relationships of convenience in RL.

That’s a pretty evolved concept.

I may have told you I expected to come in here once and that would be that. I never expected to actually enjoy it, much less find such hope for the future of humanity.

If we could all be like our avs, what would the world be like?

I mean that in both a “wow, deep” (profound meaningful connections) way, as well as in a “zOMG” (blingtards, gangsters and bimbos?) way, of course.

People say it’s sad to interact in a virtual world instead of RL. Mind you I am a very socially gregarious person in RL at times, other times I can go into a fearfully long period of creative solitude. However, we need to radically rethink the way we use resources, and again there’s a huge potential here, and that’s another reason why I believe this process needs to be guided instead of just kicking back to see how it all unfolds. That’s not to say that creative freedom should be monitored in any way, just that the most creative thinkers we’ve got ought to be giving this process some long, hard thought. How it can be used to help people connect in meaningful ways.

If we agree that we are better just by virtue of being here, of inhabiting our avatars, then why wouldn’t this be a better sort of world — a meta-world? Wouldn’t every interaction be more meaningful? Wouldn’t we live in a better state as human beings if we followed this sort of natural “virtual law” in a more consistent way in our everyday lives? Wouldn’t we live happier lives if we lived them in-world?

It’s a challenge to bring Aenea into RL with me, but she makes me better all the time. (Do I say this in every post on this blog? It sure feels like I do…) And all the time I spend as/with her in-world teaches me to better understand myself and my own motivations. Bombi and I have promised each other that this will be our challenge, to make our avs part of our real lives, and to live RL with the same vigor and intensity that our avs would.

That makes it worthwhile.