Continuing with my mapping obsession (perhaps I wasn’t as reformed as I thought), I noticed something new today when I visited the Friends Online page (which I do obsessively throughout the day at work, in order to vicariously feel like I’m online too):

Friends list

Friends who are online, and who have granted me mapping rights, now appear with a link to what appears to be their current secondlife:// location (or at least the closest tp point). It also appears to update location upon refreshing the page! Cool trick, Linden Labs.🙂

This is probably old news, but since I didn’t have mapping rights to anyone, I had never noticed this until today.🙂

But come to think of it, I haven’t seen a few of these friends recently enough for them to have just granted me mapping rights (hi Ari and yukiko!), so this may actually be a new feature of the secondlife.com site.

P.S. – I hope this post doesn’t cause anyone to get cold feet and retract my mapping rights🙂

UPDATE: Confirmed!