I’ve been accused of having become a “blonde”, thereby losing all capacity for rational thought, and I need to refute the accusation. ๐Ÿ™‚ This will be a short post, but it’s part of a larger internal discussion I’m going over in my head that I hope to develop over the next few weeks in additional posts.

Basically, I’m trying to imagine the business case for a RL business to come into SL. The obvious answer at present is simple marketing: capturing the PR exposure from getting into SL’s hype, and somehow offering something of value to SL’s residents.

But how do you create a more reasonable (read: longer term) value proposition for business? How can it be more than marketing? How do you leverage the hours that the average user spends in-world interacting with the environment? How can SL be a *tool*?

I’ve read interesting thoughts that are tangential to this discussion from Gwyn Llewelynย  (there are many more where that came from ๐Ÿ™‚ ) and from Hiro Pendragon (I especially like Hiro’s thoughts on “passive browsing” in SL — a brilliant idea for which there isn’t an easy metaphor).

I don’t have an answer yet; maybe no one does yet. It’s something I’m turning over a lot, and I’m sure many of those at the metaverse development companies in SL are as well.

I’ll keep bouncing this around, and post more ideas as they come to me.

