Before we begin, a warning: This will be all stream of consciousness. Lack of inspiration has affected my posting frequency, but I have so much on my mind that I would be posting here if I weren’t filtering myself. So let’s see what comes out.

Sometimes I feel like I’m playing this game all wrong. I drool over people who are creative and expressive in SL (and in RL for that matter), yet I only bring my creative urge to bear when I just get overwhelmed by my second life (that partially explains the delay between machinimas…). The intensity of the past few weeks has taken its toll on me, and I kind of feel that I’d rather not be in there, but rather out here trying to create. And when I’m trying to be creative out here, I feel such a rush that I wonder why I don’t do this more often.

My SL is just too full for my own good, I guess.

. . . . .

I’m learning Photoshop at a rapid pace, helped by finally being able to install CS3 that I bought several weeks ago, and have taken to editing most of the pics I take in SL now before posting to Flickr (yay!! another time sink). I find it oddly amusing that SL is almost an ideal environment to learn and apply PS skills — both for creating, and also for the number and diversity of pics that you can take and which you can edit to your heart’s content. I feel a bit guilty that I barely edit the huge number of pics I’ve taken of my son and I’ve never edited a minute of video we’ve taken of him, but I pour that much effort into making Aenea look good.

I also got Final Cut Express for editing videos; there are a few limitations in iMovie that have always driven me nuts, especially because I’ve done so much time-based and timing-critical editing in my music videos; I needed something more powerful to keep my cuts in time. This software is absolutely beautiful, but the learning curve is pretty steep. I like challenges, though.

Anyway, odds are I’ll finally finish a video I shot with Beth a month ago pretty soon…

. . . . .

I dreamt about SL last night, for the first time in a long time. I dreamt I was invited to an SL friend’s wedding in RL, and spent the whole dream with anxiety about meeting my SL friends in RL; in particular, I was quite obsessed with what I was going to wear (!). And once I was there, no one recognized me or even paid much attention to me at all, which drives me nuts. Let’s just say I’m not particularly well-rested this morning.

. . . . .

I’ve been exploring SL again lately, driven by random tp’s from the charming Catero Revolution. I’ve written and re-written the next sentence in this paragraph a whole bunch of times in my head, but for now, I think I’ll just filter it.😉

. . . . .

I’m not good at stream of consciousness, I guess. This is all too nicely edited, spelled and punctuated (and filtered :/) to actually count as such.

At least I got off my butt and posted something.