I’ve written several times about my love for the art that people make in SL, where there are no physical restrictions, and where the only limits (at least in theory) are what one can imagine. Previous recipients of my love have been Starax, the Greenies Home, and the ZeroG Skydancers, among others.

I was fortunate enough to have been invited to be a member of Not Possible In Real Life (NPIRL), a group that Bettina Tizzy founded for the appreciation of these kind artists and their work, in spite of my lack of apparent talent.🙂 The group discovers and is often the first to see some of the most amazing creations on the grid, and I have to say that it’s been one of the most enriching parts of my second life over the past few months.

Last week Bett invited the group (she is the consummate Connector🙂 ) to explore the Synaesthesia sim, I got to meet Spiral Walcher, about whom Bett has written extensively. Spi invited several of us to visit his newest build (the subject of the aforementioned article), and I was stunned by what I saw.

Spi has invented a new kind of art in SL, taking advantage of the Glow feature that has been introduced in the recent WindLight viewer. Using barely one prim, one texture, and one simple texture rotation script, Spi has created some beautiful, hypnotic pieces of art. His Electric Forest is merely a proof of concept compared to the much vaster work in production that he showed me.

Photo by Bettina Tizzy, npirl.blogspot.com.

In fangirlish awe, I begged sufficient hints to figure out some of his techniques, and the simplicity of the idea and its implementation is astounding. Spi’s late night (~4AM) IM’s over the past week set off storms of buzzing creativity in my poor, sleep-deprived head.

Spi showed me his latest piece a few days ago, a scarab bracelet and necklace which include one his glow figures as a jewel, which he was kind enough to gift me. To see it up close is mesmerizing:

The video can’t do the fine details justice — you’ll have to see it in person. Spi says that he hopes to offer these pieces for sale soon, a truly unique NPIRL piece of jewelry.

I’m so excited to see the final product of his work. In the meantime, I create my own figures based on Spi’s work, and buzz with the possibility.

PS – YAY!! WordPress.com now allows embedding Vimeo video!