I know this isn’t a political blog, but sometimes there are things that you need to say. I believe firmly that this is a very important election, and I also believe that Obama stands the best hope that he can work to unite the country again around common visions and a plan for the future, as it was some 30 years ago before we became so divided and partisan.

I sometimes agree that Obama relies excessively on his oratory and rhetorical skills. At the same time, I believe it’s fundamental that the next leader of this country is someone who can galvanize people around common goals, while working to build up our confidence and self-reliance. That is something that requires a leader with the ability to express him or herself effectively, and to rally people together; it is my hope that Obama will be another leader like those at various critical junctures in our history have come to power: Lincoln, Roosevelt, Truman, Kennedy.

I was asked to participate in a short survey by Barack Obama campaign, since I’ve been supporting him since the primaries. I’ve become disenchanted with the campaign since the primaries concluded. I still have no doubt that Obama is the best choice for president, but I would like to see him get there staying above the fray, and not getting down in the dirt with the lowest-common denominator tactics the Republicans have used for the past 20 years.

So I told him so:

I’m concerned that Barack isn’t expressing enough about the policies he plans to support, spending his campaign days engaged belittling McCain. I understand that you have give as you get, but in the process, this has descended to become a regular presidential campaign again. There was a great deal of pride in seeing a candidate who was above the fray and the small-mindedness of the Republicans and the Democrats in general, but we seem to have lost that.

Furthermore, it seems that the only communication those of us who’ve supported him since the primaries receive anymore are attempts to convince us to keep on donating. Give us ideas! Give us hope! Give us something to believe in, messages to share, ways to add value. I can’t believe that all Barack needs from me is my $25. I hope to see him get back on track, and not wallow in the mud with his adversary.

I’m not sure why I wanted to post this. It seems important to say *something*, especially since I’m in Mexico, and can’t do many of the things I could do in the US to support Obama in this election. I understand *why* I’m voting for him, and I think the least we can all do is to reason our votes, and not allow them to be taken with lies, tall tales, or force of habit (the latter has been my eternal argument with my parents, where they’d simply vote Republican as a knee-jerk instinct, without any reasoning as to which candidate was better for the country).